Get Out of Your Rut!

Hey Damsels!

If you’re anything like me, you get overwhelmed with life from time to time and just need to take a chill pill.  read: BREAK

In all honesty, I was in a rut! I allowed life to distract me and I lost focus on what is truly important. My Big Bold Goal(s). I had not realized it was over a month since my last post until I was exchanging business cards with a local boutique owner. I have to admit, I felt a bit embarrassed. That I had not been committed to my dream as much as I wanted to.

Don’t fret. I immediately went home and rededicated myself to my blog.

Have you ever gotten in a rut and lost sight of your goals?  Most of us work 40+ hours a week, by the time we are done we still have housework, laundry, and errands to do. Kids to cook for. A partner to attend to. (Ok so what if the laundry ended up in a pile on the chair in the corner). By the time you have tended to your home and family, exhaustion sets in and the last thing you want to do after a long day’s work is work some more. You definitely do not want to work for another 2 or 3 hours at that.

#WeBeTiredBawse 

A small shift in perspective will ensure your goals are met. Don’t look at it as you have to work on your business. Look at it as you get to work on your Big Bold Goal! You get to inspire someone. You get to prove them wrong. You get to not give up on your dreams. You get to be who you needed when you were younger. You get to be the change.

This week’s challenge STEP OUT OF YOUR RUT!

Need some tips on how to shift your perspective so that you can step out of your rut?

  1. Decide what you want. Make up your mind to change your situation and commit to change your circumstances. Carpe Diem Damsels! The first step is in your mind.
  2. Make a plan. The next step is on paper. Make a plan and write it down. You get bonus points for posting it where you can see it every day or journaling it every day.
  3. Work on it. Now that your mind and plan are made up. Make space in your life to actually work on it. Schedule office hours and keep them. Break up with social media except for your business/brand.
  4. Relentlessly repeat. The thing about success, it’s a journey, not a destination. If you find a road that travels well, stay on it.  Repeat what works for you and eliminate what does not.

Be gentle with yourself, you are still growing. There is a fine line between falling in a rut and becoming underinspired and starting over. Sometimes the fresh start comes after realizing your rut was actually a lack of focus/commitment. Sometimes we just need to start over fresh after a rut at working full steam. But one thing for sure is YOU have to decide when to do the work to get out of the rut.

Be bold. Live out loud & as always remember,

Distress

 

 

Join the conversation

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.