LoRen Knight is Doin Her Thing!

Good Evening Damsels!
Tonight is an extra special night as I am publishing my very first Damsel Doin Her Thing! Not only is this young lady a singer & songwriter, she also happens to be my younger cousin. But DO NOT be thwarted by my nepotism as she has fully earned her spotlight as the inaugural Damsel Doin’ Her Thing!
Lo (as her fans call her) and I conducted a virtual interview where she shares some insight on staying true to yourself and following your dreams but also remembering to work for them!
So without further delay here is my interview with, Ms. Loren Knight.

Me:
Good Afternoon Loren!

First and foremost I want to say THANK YOU for agreeing to participate in this interview. The Damsel NO Distress vision is, “To empower women to be the Damsel who boldly goes into the world and leaves her mark.” I see you doing JUST that and truthfully,  I am inspired & I believe my readers will be inspired as well.

The segment of my blog I am working on is Damsel Doin’ Her Thing with the goal to inspire my readers to chase after their dreams unapologetically; by highlighting women who are going after their dreams as opposed to following the crowd.

Questions 1-3: Introduce yourself to my readers. What’s your name? Where are you from? And what’s your thing/niche/industry?

Loren Knight:
Yay! Honored to be apart!

My name is LoRen Knight, my fans call me ” Lo”,  and I am Singer/Songwriter from Pittsburgh PA. I tell stories to help others think out loud, I write from my heart, I sing from my soul, and I like to perform in my barefeet. I  hope thats not too weird of a start lol

Me:
Question 4: How long have you been writing songs & performing, eh barefoot?

LK:
LOL yes! I’ve been singing in my church choir for as long as I can remember, I was a really shy kid, so whenever I had solo’s I’d take my shoes off, and it would instantly make me feel free and fearless. When it comes to songwriting, I’ve been writing music since I was 7 yrs old. My mom had a “before and after school daycare”, and alot of the kids were interested in music, so she would challenge us to write a song alone in 20 mins, giving us a topic, like… “back to school” or something and from the start, I did very well, coming up with original lyrics beyond my years, I remember her constantly ”googling” my songs, out of disbelief that they were original. lol

Me:
Wow… So you’ve been doing this your whole life!

Questions 5&6: Have you always known this is what you want to do? Do you ever feel like you want to just go and be average, go to college/ join the rat race?

LK:
Yes…  I have! I’ve always known I wanted to be a singer! I struggled with it the most in high school though. I decided to go to school on-line in middle school, because I wanted to pursue music full time, my parents agreed to it as long as I kept my grades up. It was hard for me because, at times I was depressed. Feeling as if I missed my friends, dances, and just the overall “high school experience”[But its afforded me] to study legendary artist like “Sam Cooke” and practice performing, I was even an artist under an independent Hawaiian label. I also took vocal lessons in “Classical Italian” and “Broadway.” Overall, looking back, I definitely feel my high school years were well spent, I believe that there is always room to grow and learn, so I will be continuing my education at Full Sail University online, this fall majoring in “Music Production.”

Me:
It seems like you have an understanding of your calling & following it no matter the sacrifice.

I’ve dedicated my blog to “the Damsels who are pulling themselves out of distress and the sheros who have refused to wait around to be saved”

Question 7: How does this resonate with you? Do you have a piece of advice for the readers?

LK:
Thank you. I honestly, love the theme of your blog, and I feel honored to be apart of it. I think it is important that we remember as “Sheroes and Damsels pulling ourselves out of distress,” that the world doesn’t owe us anything, and we don’t deserve anything. The bible says, “the harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few” meaning that there is plenty work and opportunities for everyone to succeed, but not everyone wants to work for it. So my fellow “sheroes” , be the person that works for it 🙂 No matter what it takes.

Loren recently released The 12 Hour Album (click here to listen). She and her producer, Truth wrote and produced in its entirety in just 12 Hours. The album has 8 tracks including her single “Cupid” & my favorite “Elevator Music”. Once you’ve heard this album I am sure you will be left wanting more! She is on Facebook as Love Loren & on Instagram @love_loren. Again you can listen and download her album HERE!
My goal is to encourage, entertain and educate you! If you know a Damsel Doin Her Thing & want to nominate her to be featured on my site please email me at damselnodistress@gmail.com!

 

One thought on “LoRen Knight is Doin Her Thing!

Join the conversation

