Find a Mentor!

Bonjour Damsels,

A little over a year ago I met my mentor at a Mastermind Group she was facilitating for John C. Maxwell’s book “The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership”. The MMG had less than 10 participants and each week for 7 weeks we met to discuss 3 new laws that we read from the book since the previous class. If you’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting my astounding mentor, April Swan-Jackson; Then you understand when I say, we almost instantly connected. It was like something in me knew her from somewhere sometime ago.

On the last day of the class I mustered up enough courage to ask the woman (who encouraged me to not only get off my duff and hit publish for the first time on my blog, but also to invest time in developing as woman and to seek Christ) to be my mentor. Her response was: “Of course, I’ve been waiting for you to ask me!” I swear we had a divine appointment that was set way before I stepped foot in that church!

This week I challenge you to find a mentor!

I cannot begin to tell you just how much my mentor has sewn into my life and my business. She and I can discuss just about any and everything: Christ, college, traveling, work, our passion projects, food, music, you name it we’ve talked about it! More important than us being able to talk about anything, she challenges me, she leads me, encourages me and helps me to stay grounded.

My mentor has not only been an asset to my life but also to my career!

If you don’t have a mentor #BETTERGETCHUONE

If you can’t identify a man or woman who is willing to sew into you perhaps look into hiring a coach. The point is to get someone you respect in you corner so that they can encourage you, challenging you to grow & guide you when you need assistance. Someone who will be just as invested in your success as you are but also someone you can help too; its just as important that you are an asset as a mentee.

& as always remember,
Distress

Join the conversation

